PROF. DR. KARIN LOCHTE

Member of the Executive Board of the German Marine Research Alliance DAM

Scientific Advisory Board des Swiss Polar Institute (Co-Vorsitzende)

Excellence, Impact and Engagement Committee des Ocean Frontiers Institute, Halifax, Canada

National Environment Research Council (NERC), UK

Education and degrees

1994	Habilitation in Marine Biology/Aquatic Microbiology at the University of Bremen, Germany, "Microbial degradation of organic matter in the benthic boundary layer of the deep sea"
1984	PhD in Marine Biology "Microbiological observations at sea water discontinuities"
1979	Master of Science in Marine Biology
1977 - 1984	Marine Science Laboratories Menai Bridge University College of North Wales, Bangor, UK Study of Marine Biology
1976	State Exam for High School Teacher in Biology, Chemistry
1971 – 1976	Technical University Hannover, Germany Study of Biology, Chemistry, Philosophy
1971	University-Entrance Diploma
1959 - 1971	School education in Hannover, Germany

Professional experience

2007 – 2017	Director of the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz-Centre for Polar and Marine Research
2000 – 2007	Leibniz Institute for Marine Research (later GEOMAR), Kiel Head of research unit Biological Oceanography Professor at University of Kiel for Biological Oceanography Field of research: Carbon fixation, nitrogen fixation and microbial remineralisation processes in the water column
1995 – 2000	Institute for Baltic Sea Research Warnemünde, Rostock Head of department Biological Oceanography

	Professor at the University of Rostock for Biological Oceanography and Marine Microbiology Field of research: Pelagic bacterial processes, nitrogen fixation
1990 – 1994	Research scientist at the Alfred Wegener Institute, Bremerhaven Research: Microbial turnover of organic matter in sea ice, water and sediment
1985 – 1990	PostDoc at the Leibniz Institute for Marine Research, University of Kiel Research: Microbial turnover of organic carbon in deep sea sediments

Member of International Committees

International Commitees

1995 – 2001	Scientific Steering Committee of Joint Global Ocean Flux Studies (JGOFS)
1998 – 2004	Scientific Advisory Committee of the Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ), Texel
2001 – 2006	Scientific Committee of the International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme (IGBP), vice-chair
2006 - 2011	European Marine Board
2008 - 2017	European Polar Board (Executive Committee)
2008 – 2018	German Delegate of Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), 2012 – present Vice-President
2010 – 2017	International Arctic Science Committee (IASC, Council Member)
2014 - 2017	European Climate Research Alliance (ECRA), chair
2017 – 2019 (ch	Scientific Advisory Board of the Arctic Science Centre, Finland air)
2018 – present	Scientific Advisory Board of the Swiss Polar Institute (co-chair)
2018 – present	Excellence, Impact and Engagement Committee of the Ocean Frontiers Institute, Halifax, Canada

2018 – present National Environment Research Council (NERC), UK

National Committees

1995 – 2011	Senate Commission of the German Research Council (DFG) for Oceanography, chair 2004 – 2011
1998 – 2006	Scientific Advisory Board of the Institute Chemistry and Biology of the Sea (ICBM), University Oldenburg; chair 2003 – 2006
1999 – 2003	Scientific Advisory Board of the Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), Bremerhaven
2000 – 2005	National Committee for Global Change Research, co-chair
2002 – 2008	Jury of the Science Prize of the Leibniz Association "Society needs Science"
2002 – 2005	Scientific Advisory Committee of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)
2004 – 2005	DFG Review Board 313 "Atmospheric and Marine Research"
2004 – 2010	German Council of Science and Humanities (Wissenschaftsrat), chair of the Scientific Commission 2006 – 2008
2005 - 2010	Granting Commission of the German Excellence Initiative
2006 – 2013	Scientific Advisory Board, Max-Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology
2007 – present	Board of Governors, Jacobs University (JUB), chair 2008 – 2015
2009 – 2010	Vice president of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres, coordinator of the research field Earth and Environment
2010 – 2015	Scientific Commission of Lower Saxony (WKN), chair
2010 – 2019	German Marine Research Consortium (Konsortium Deutsche Meeresforschung KDM), chair 2011 – 2015
2010 – present	Board of Trustees of the Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe BGR)

2011 – present	General Assembly of the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS), chair 2015 – present
2013 – present	Senate of Leibniz Association
2017 – present	Advisory Board of Christian-Albrechts-University, Kiel (CAU)
2018 – present	Advisory Board Forschungsverbund Berlin
2018 – present	Advisory Board University Oldenburg
2018 – present	Advisory Board Technical University Dortmund

Awards and Memberships of Academies

1977 – 1979	DAAD grant
1978 - 1981	Studentship of the University of Wales
1981 – 1983	Studentship of the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes
1994	Award by Bertha Benz Lecture
2010	Deutsche Bank – IFM-GEOMAR Meeresforschungspreis 2010
2012	Honorary doctorate - Faculty of Mathematics and Science of University Oldenburg
2017	Federal Cross of Merit of the Federal Government of Germany
2019	Honorary Fellowship University of Bangor, UK
2005 – present	Academy of Sciences in Hamburg
2010 – present	German Academy of Science and Engineering