Overview

The German Marine Research Alliance

Seas and oceans play a central role in global climate processes. They are among the most important eco-systems on Earth and influence the lives of millions of people. There is a great need for knowledge on how to protect the oceans and make their use by humans more sustainable.In 2019, the German marine research community, to-gether with the federal government and the northern German states of Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony and Schleswig-Holstein, founded the German Marine Research Alliance (Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung, DAM).Germany has thereby created one of the world’s largest marine research alliances.

Michael Meister Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung DAM
Michael Meister, parliamentary state secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research at the DAM Kick-Off in March 2020. | Picture: DAM/Dirk Enters

“The oceans, as we know them, are massively threatened,” as Michael Meister observed very frankly. As parliamentary state secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, he was explaining the Federal Government’s commitment to marine research and the DAM. The goal: “Not only do we want to make excellent research possible; we also want this knowledge to be applied.”

Björn Thümler, Minister of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony at the DAM Kick-Off in March 2020
Björn Thümler, Minister of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony at the DAM Kick-Off in March 2020. | Picture: DAM/Dirk Enters

“Marine protection, coastal protection and climate protection form a powerful triad, which is particularly important for the North German states,” said Björn Thümler, the Minister of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony, who was also speaking on behalf of the North German states of Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania and Schleswig-Holstein. His plea: “So I can only appeal to the researchers involved – not only as a minister, but also as someone who lives on the coast: Use the opportunities offered by this alliance to make new discoveries and help us to find the right answers to climate change.”

Our Objectives

The DAM aims to strengthen the sustainable use of the coasts, seas and oceans through research, data management and digitalisation, infrastructure and transfer.To this end, the DAM is working together with its member institutions to develop solution-oriented knowledge and to communicate potential courses of action to politics, business and civil society.

OUR VIDEO

presents seas and oceans, marine research and points out the role of the German Marine Research Alliance:

Play video

By starting the video, personal data will be submitted to YouTube: Privacy Policy

Our Core Areas

Research Missions: Knowledge for Decision-Making

The DAM develops and coordinates solution-oriented research missions to investigate current, socially relevant issues and develop science-based decision-making options for the sustainable management of coasts, seas and oceans. The research missions are selected and carried out in consultation with stakeholders. Two topics have been selected for now: Protection and sustainable use of the oceans: Options, concepts and strategies and Marine carbon sinks: Contributing to climate protection.

Kim Detloff, the Head of Marine Protection at NABU e.V. at the DAM Kick-Off in March 2020. | Picture: DAM/Dirk Enters

Kim Detloff, the Head of Marine Protection at NABU e.V., hopes that the DAM will provide “many opportunities for dialogue, participation, and pursuing common issues and research content. I also hope that the DAM will provide some coordination, that it will be used as a means of conducting a discourse within the scientific community, especially when it comes to marine geoengineering.”

Data Management and Digitalisation: Strategies for Marine Research

Together with its member institutions, the DAM is developing an integrated and reliable data  management concept for the research environment. It supports open access to marine research data in line with FAIR principles (findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable). The aim is to generate added value for science and innovation through open access and by integrating quality-assured research data across disciplinary boundaries. This will be done taking into account the activities of the National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI).

Infrastructure: Concepts for Efficient Use

German marine research has a unique research infrastructure, including research vessels and research stations, underwater vehicles, observatories and aircraft. The DAM develops omprehensive utilisation and operational concepts to facilitate the efficient use of this infrastructure. Operating the infrastructure remains the task of the individual institutions.

Transfer: Using Knowledge Effectively

Scientific knowledge can impact society when it leads to innovations, developments, decision-making or an increase in knowledge beyond the scientific community. At the same time, the dialogue with non-scientists allows socially relevant questions and views to be incorporated into current research. This is why the transfer of scientific findings to politics, business and society is one of the DAM’s key objectives.

The DAM pools German marine research expertise concerning the sustainable management of the coasts, seas and oceans and ensures that knowledge is exchanged in ways that are appropriate to the target group. The DAM also develops strategies for cooperating with business, promoting young scientists and for capacity development.

Norbert Brackmann, the Federal Government’s coordinator for the maritime industry at the DAM Kick-Off in March 2020. | Picture: DAM/Dirk Enters

Norbert Brackmann, the Federal Government’s coordinator for the maritime industry, considered it “imperative that we start as soon as possible to scientifically assess and weigh up the opportunities and risks – for example of offshore wind energy. That is what we can and must do as politicians: weigh up, present alternatives and then come to conclusive decisions.”

Ulrich Schnabel bei der Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung DAM
Ulrich Schnabel, science editor at DIE ZEIT at the DAM Kick-Off in March 2020. | Picture: DAM/Dirk Enters

Ulrich Schnabel, a science editor at DIE ZEIT, hopes that “the creation of the DAM will produce a new dimension that extends beyond the individual research institutes, with a new dynamic. That the DAM will, for example, think about how we can contribute to the UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development in ways that are relevant to the public?”

Our Statutes (in German)

PDF

Our Administrative Agreement (in German)

PDF

Our Flyer

PDF

Share this page

Newsletter

Always up-to-date with the DAM-Newsletter.

Our Sponsors

The federal government and the regional governments of the five Northern German federal states are supporting and funding the current establishment of the DAM. In addition, the DAM is supported by the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres.

This website uses cookies

We inform you that this site uses only cookies of the below mentioned parties to make sure our web page is user-friendly and to guarantee a high functionality of the webpage. Choose which cookies you would like to accept, or click decline to remove all cookies.

Choose which cookies to use

Überblick

Die Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung

Meere und Ozeane spielen eine zentrale Rolle für globale Klimaprozesse, zählen zu den bedeutendsten Ökosystemen der Erde und beeinflussen das Leben von Millionen von Menschen. Es besteht ein großer Bedarf an Wissen darüber, wie die Meere geschützt und ihre Nutzung durch den Menschen nachhaltiger gestaltet werden kann. 2019 hat die deutsche Meeresforschung gemeinsam mit dem Bund und den norddeutschen Bundesländern Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Niedersachsen und Schleswig-Holstein die Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung (DAM) gegründet. Damit hat Deutschland eine der weltweit größten marinen Forschungsallianzen ins Leben gerufen.

Michael Meister Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung DAM
Michael Meister, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär bei der Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung, spricht bei der Auftaktveranstaltung der DAM im März 2020. | Bild: DAM/Dirk Enters

„Das Meer, so wie wir es kennen, ist massiv bedroht.“ Mit deutlichen Worten begründete Michael Meister, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär bei der Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung, das Engagement der Bundesregierung für die Meeresforschung und die DAM. Das Ziel: „Wir wollen nicht nur exzellente Forschung möglich machen. Wir wollen das Wissen auch in die Umsetzung bringen.“

Björn Thümler bei der Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung DAM
Björn Thümler, Minister für Wissenschaft und Kultur des Landes Niedersachsen, bei der Auftaktveranstaltung der DAM. | Bild: DAM/Dirk Enters

„Meeresschutz, Küstenschutz und Klimaschutz stellen einen kraftvollen Dreiklang dar, der gerade für die norddeutschen Länder wichtig ist“, sagte Björn Thümler, der als Minister für Wissenschaft und Kultur des Landes Niedersachsen auch für die norddeutschen Länder Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und Schleswig-Holstein sprach. Sein Appell: „Daher kann ich nicht nur als Minister, sondern auch als Küstenbewohner den beteiligten Forscherinnen und Forschern nur zurufen: Nutzen Sie die Chancen dieser Allianz, um Neues zu entdecken und mitzuhelfen, die richtigen Antworten auf den Klimawandel zu finden.“

Unsere Ziele

Ziel der DAM ist es, den nachhaltigen Umgang mit den Küsten, Meeren und Ozeanen durch Forschung, Datenmanagement und Digitalisierung, Infrastrukturen und Transfer zu stärken. Dafür erarbeitet die DAM gemeinsam mit ihren Mitgliedseinrichtungen lösungsorientiertes Wissen und vermittelt Handlungsoptionen in Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft.

Unser Film

zeigt die Meere, die Meeresforschung und welche Rolle die Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung in diesem Zusammenhang spielt:

Video Abspielen

Mit dem Aufruf des Videos werden Daten an YouTube übermittelt: Datenschutzerklärung

UNSERE KERNBEREICHE

Forschungsmissionen: Wissen für Entscheidungen

Die DAM entwickelt und koordiniert lösungsorientierte Forschungsmissionen zu aktuellen, gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragen, in denen wissenschaftsbasierte Entscheidungsoptionen für einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit den Küsten, Meeren und Ozeanen erarbeitet werden. Die Auswahl und Durchführung der Forschungsmissionen erfolgt im Austausch mit Stakeholdern. Aktuell wurden zwei Themen ausgewählt: Meere schützen und nachhaltig nutzen: Optionen, Konzepte und Strategien sowie Meere als Kohlenstoffspeicher: Ein Beitrag zum Klimaschutz.

Kim Detloff bei der Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung DAM
Kim Detloff, Leiter Meeresschutz beim NABU e.V., bei der DAM Auftaktveranstaltung im März 2020. | Bild: DAM/Dirk Enters

Von der DAM erhofft sich Kim Detloff, Leiter Meeresschutz beim NABU e.V., „dass diesem Auftakt ganz viele Angebote für den Dialog folgen, für Partizipation, für gemeinsame Fragestellungen und Forschungsinhalte. Ich wünsche mir auch, dass es Koordination über die DAM gibt, dass darüber ein Diskurs innerhalb der Wissenschaften geführt wird, gerade wenn es um marines Geoengineering geht.“

Datenmanagement und Digitalisierung: Strategien für die Meeresforschung

Gemeinsam mit den Mitgliedseinrichtungen erarbeitet die DAM ein integriertes und verlässliches Datenmanagementkonzept für die Forschungslandschaft. Sie unterstützt einen offenen Zugang zu Meeresforschungsdaten nach den FAIR-Prinzipien (auffindbar, zugänglich, interoperabel, wiederverwendbar). Ziel ist die Generierung eines Mehrwerts für Wissenschaft und Innovation durch den offenen Zugang und die Integration von qualitätsgesicherten Forschungsdaten über Disziplingrenzen hinweg. Dies erfolgt unter Berücksichtigung der Aktivitäten der Nationalen Forschungsdateninfrastruktur (NFDI).

Infrastrukturen: Konzepte für eine effiziente Nutzung

Die deutsche Meeresforschung verfügt mit ihren Forschungsschiffen und -stationen, Unterwasserfahrzeugen, Observatorien und Flugzeugen über einzigartige Forschungsinfrastrukturen. Um eine effiziente Nutzung dieser Infrastrukturen zu ermöglichen, entwickelt die DAM übergreifende Nutzungs- und Betriebskonzepte. Der Betrieb der Infrastrukturen bleibt Aufgabe der Einrichtungen.

Transfer: Wissen wirksam machen

Erkenntnisse aus der Wissenschaft werden gesellschaftlich wirksam, wenn sie zu Innovationen, Entwicklungen, Entscheidungsfindungen oder Wissenszuwachs außerhalb der Forschung führen. Zugleich können gesellschaftlich relevante Fragen und Sicht-weisen durch einen Austausch mit Nicht-Wissenschaftlern in die Forschung einfließen. Der Transfer wissenschaftlicher Erkennt-nisse in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft ist daher ein wesentliches Element der DAM.Die DAM bündelt die Expertise der deutschen Meeresforschung zum nachhaltigen Umgang mit den Küsten, Meeren und Ozeanen und sorgt für einen zielgruppengerechten Wissensaustausch. Außerdem erarbeitet die DAM Strategien für Kooperationen mit der Wirtschaft, Nachwuchsförderung und den Aufbau von Wissenspartnerschaften.

Norbert Brackmann bei der Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung DAM
Norbert Brackmann, Koordinator der Bundesregierung für die maritime Wirtschaft und Bundestagsabgeordneter, bei der DAM Auftaktveranstaltung im März 2020. | Bild: DAM/Dirk Enters

Norbert Brackmann, Koordinator der Bundesregierung für die maritime Wirtschaft, hielt es für „geradezu zwingend, dass wir so früh wie möglich anfangen, Chancen und Risiken – zum Beispiel der Offshore-Windenergie – wissenschaftlich aufarbeiten zu lassen und abzuwägen. Das ist das, was wir als Politik machen können, auch müssen: Abwägen, Alternativen darstellen, und dann auch zu schlüssigen Entscheidungen kommen.“

Ulrich Schnabel bei der Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung DAM
Ulrich Schnabel, Wissenschaftsredakteur bei DIE ZEIT, auf dem Podium | Bild: DAM/Dirk Enters

Ulrich Schnabel, Wissenschaftsredakteur bei DIE ZEIT, wünscht, „dass durch die Gründung der DAM eine neue Dimension entsteht, die über die einzelnen Forschungsinstitute hinausgeht, eine neue Dynamik. Dass die DAM zum Beispiel überlegt: Was können wir zu der UN Dekade der Meeresforschung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung beitragen, das für die Öffentlichkeit relevant ist?“

unsere Satzung

PDF

Unsere Verwaltungsvereinbarung

PDF

Unsere Kurzdarstellung (Flyer)

PDF

Seite teilen

Newsletter

Immer aktuell informiert mit dem DAM-Newsletter.

Unsere Förderer

Die Bundesregierung und die Regierungen der fünf norddeutschen Bundesländer unterstützen den derzeitigen Aufbau und fördern die DAM. Zusätzlich wird die DAM durch die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren unterstützt.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies

Wir weisen Sie darauf hin, dass diese Seite nur Cookies folgender Anbieter verwendet, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit unserer Webseite zu gewährleisten und eine hohe Funktionalität der Webseite zu garantieren. Wählen Sie aus, welche Cookies Sie akzeptieren möchten, oder klicken Sie auf Ablehnen, um alle Cookies zu entfernen.

Cookies auswählen